Random News: Garth Nix Bell Contest

Hello Sweeties,

If you are anything like me you are very eagerly awaiting the release of the next book in The Old Kingdom Series, Clariel. And unfortunately the book is not going to be published until September 2014. If you are not familiar with Garth Nix and this amazing series, you really need to run to your local library or bookstore and pick up a copy of any of the books (although you really need to read Lireal to understand Abhorsen).

So while September 2014 is a long ways away, there is some exciting news from Garth Nix. On his Facebook page, Nix has announced a chance to win some really cool things. The first thing that the 7 lucky winners will get is 2 of the bell charms based on the bells used by the characters in the books. I have wanted a whole set for so long, and unfortunately the store has been sold out for a long time (you can visit the shop here). The 2 bells are worth at least 80 Australian Dollars, you can see some of the bells below. However, that is not it, in fact you will also get a 2 chapter sneak peak at Clariel, that are signed and numbered. This is an incredible opportunity!


So what do you need to do to enter? All you have to do is write a review of Sabriel and post it here. Then you go to Garth Nix’s Facebook note about this and say what name you left your review under. It really is that simple! You have until 8th September to enter.

I have already left my review and name. I wish you guys all the best, and if one of you wins, I’m sure you could share a bell, right? ^_^ Anyways, I hope some of you take advantage of this opportunity!

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

