Random News: Win Robin McKinley’s new book

Hello Sweeties,

I apologize for yet another Random News, but I couldn’t wait to share this news with you! I do promise a new review tomorrow though! However, the news is that Robin McKinley’s next book, Shadows, is out 26th September!! How exciting is that? If you have been living under a rock somewhere and are unfamiliar with her amazing work, Frances and I have read many of them and reviewed them here. My favorites will always be The Hero and the Crown, and The Blue Sword, but I have loved Beauty and Sunshine. Even better than all the books, we have actually met this amazing woman, which you can read about here. Clearly both Frances and I are huge fans! To read more about the new book you can go here: http://tinyurl.com/RMcKSHADOWS. However, just the book coming out isn’t the only reason to get excited, she is also giving away a free signed copy. All you have to do is tweet,  facebook, or blog about the book, and send in the information to get entered to win the book. For full details check out Robin’s blog here, and while you are at it read some of her posts! While I clearly have not read this new book, if it is anything like her other books you can expect a great story and some strong female characters!
Also in exciting book news, Christopher Rice and his mother, Anne Rice, both have books coming out in October. Anne’s is a continuation of the story in Wolf Gift, which I have heard is really good, but unfortunately haven’t read. Her book is called The Wolves of Midwinter. Christopher is an author that sadly not enough people know about. He is one of the few authors that can have no really likeable characters, and yet I still love the book. His next book, The Heavens Rise, sounds really interesting. Even better, if you pre-order the book, and send a receipt in, you will get a signed manuscript page! You can find the details over on his Twitter or facebook pages. He is also holding a giveaway for anyone that lives outside the USA, with all the information on his facebook page.
I hope you guys take a the opportunity to check out all these great books (and don’t forget Malinda Lo’s squeal that is out soon, too!)

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

