Random News: Dumbledore’s Army Formed

Hello Lovely Readers,

Today we are celebrating the anniversary of when Dumbledore’s Army was formed. As far as some very inspired PotterHeads have figured out, the first meeting of Dumbeldore’s Army (or the Defense Association as it was first known as when it formed) was on 9 October, 1995. While I am not sure exactly how they figured this, I am happy to celebrate the 18th anniversary of this historic meeting. As such I thought we should celebrate it. For those of you who are unfamiliar with this part of the Harry Potter world, the DA (as it was called) was a group formed by the main trio and lead by Harry to instruct other students how to actually apply their defense spells, as they had a HORRIBLE teacher and a curriculum that was theory based only! The members of the DA took great personal risks to attend the meetings, but in turn learned skills that many were later able to use in the fight against Voldemort and the Deatheaters. Below is one of my favorite pictures from the fifth movie, which shows the movie adaptation of the DA.

In the book there were a few more students than there are in the picture. At least three of the members of the DA tragically died during the Battle of Hogwarts. However, their sacrifices were remembered, and Hogwarts and good triumphed.

There are many products that people have made or can buy that have the DA symbol on them. One of my favorites is the necklace shown above, which you can buy here. I think this is important as it is a great symbol to represent those who fight back against tyranny. I am sometimes troubled by how the Darkmark (the symbol of the Deatheaters and Voldemort) is worn by so many people, and seemingly revered. I think instead the DA (or the Hogwarts Crest, or even the four House Crests) are a much better way to commemorate such an amazing series.

I know I am not the only PotterHead that despised Professor Umbridge, the initial cause the group was formed to counteract (many people have said they wanted her dead more than Voldemort). The DA was one of the first things to show me that schools and teachers were not perfect, and sometimes you have to fight back to learn important things/skills. The courage of the DA members in the various fights with Deatheaters also showed many of us readers the true costs of wars, in a way that war on the news had never been able to connect with us. But most of all the DA taught many of us the importance of fighting for what is right, even if there are consequences of these actions. For this reason and for those who gallantly gave their lives defending good, I salute the members of the DA!

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

2 thoughts on “Random News: Dumbledore’s Army Formed

  1. aspenlinmer says:

    What a great, fun post! I had never connected the date that the DA was formed. Now we have a reason to celebrate in the middle of October. 🙂

    ~Aspen

    • Lynne says:

      I hadn’t realized either until I saw it on someone’s tumblr post. It helps it not seem so long to Halloween! ^_^ Hope your celebration was fun!

Leave a Reply

