Random News: Missing the Point of the Hunger Games

Hello Lovely Readers,

After reading today about the Hunger Games: Catching Fire movie setting new records for sales over the Thanksgiving holiday (you can read here), I thought I would take a moment and talk about some things that bother me with the fandom and make me concerned that some people are missing the main point of the trilogy. This is something Frances and I have talked about since before the first movie came out, and we continue to discuss every time there is something new in the series.

The first time I thought that maybe some people just didn’t get the books was a could months before the first movie came out. Unfortunately, I have no screen shot to prove what I saw, but trust me it is out there somewhere! I was on a Facebook page for the upcoming movie and glancing through some fans’ post and saw that someone had actually posted something along the lines of, “I wish I could live in Panem.” I quickly called Frances over and we both just shook our heads in disbelief. Then there was so much of a push from the advertisers on the novels and the movie to focus on the love triangle. Even recently Liam Hemsworth (I think it was him at least and I can’t find the article) said that the the love triangle has very little to do with the plot, and the series is really about revolution. This is a point that many fans seem to miss, or they just focus on the love triangle. When people ask me if I am “Team Peeta” or “Team Gale” I usually respond that I am “Team Katniss choosing whoever she wants, which could be someone completely new or no one!”
I was further concerned with how people reacted after the first movie when they found out Rue was black. There are some great articles and collection of ignorant tweets about this (see one here). It really shocked me that people could like the same book as me, yet still be very racist! It was eye opening to me and a bit disheartening to see so many people with that sort of response.
Then this summer I saw several articles that again caused me to worry. One was the idea for a Hunger Games inspired theme park, yes something like The Wizarding World of Harry Potter or something (check it our here). While I still think a theme park is highly unlikely the second article was even more worrying because it was already taking place. There are already Hunger Games themes summer camps, where on the last day the kids have a sort of Hunger Games (here for the source). I am all for encouraging kids to try new things (like archery) and stay active, I think this is very concerning. While the camp has tried to tone down the violence, at least one kid was left crying at the end. I think the Hunger Games shows what happens when we commercialize violence and the dangers in that, and these two ideas are following exactly what the books warn against.

What do you guys think? Are people missing the point of the books? Or am I just getting too old and grumpy about things? One thing is for certain, that the people who read the Hunger Games trilogy for the love triangle and I are probably going to continue to have disagreements!

Until next time,

 

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

One thought on “Random News: Missing the Point of the Hunger Games

  1. Ian says:

    It seems to me that the reaction of the world to the Hunger Games books, is in itself the completion of the social commentary.

Leave a Reply

