Inspired By: Fantasy Languages

Hello Lovely Readers,

I am one of those people that love to try learning new languages, but as I say when people ask, “I can hardly speak English!” Language and grammar are things I have always struggled with in English, but that does not stop me wishing to learn other languages. While some might think that this is an admirable trait, really it is not. Especially when some of the languages I want to learn were create for some of my favorite books. I thought I would share some sites I have found to learn languages from Fantasy Novels. I have not tried any of these so I cannot say if any of them are really helpful or not.

Dothraki Sample

From The Game of Thrones (or the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin)

Dothraki
High Valyrian
Astapori Valyrian

Klingon Writing Sample

Star Trek

Vulcan
Klingon

John’s speech about Sherlock in the writing of the Time Lords, made by suriella.tumblr.com who has more work that you can check out!

Doctor Who

Writing in Gallifreyan

Elvish Writing Sample (which style of Elvish is unknown)

JRR Tolkien Languages

Elvish (to my understanding this has the several variations that Tolkien created)
The only source that I have used is a book called The Languages of Tolkien’s Middle-earth by Ruth S. Noel. This contains introductory information on 14 of Tolkien’s languages!

Dwarvish writing Sample

Creating your own Fantasy Language

Writer’s resource

So have any of you tried to learn any of these languages, or other fantasy based languages? Any good resources you recommend? Are there any languages you wish you could learn? I am so much more of a writing person, and would like to learn to write many of these!

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

4 thoughts on “Inspired By: Fantasy Languages

  1. Hi! I stumbled across this because I found my image on here. That’s completely humbling and I’m totally honored that it’s here! I was wondering if you could maybe credit it? I did the “John’s speech in gallifreyan”. It took quite a long time to do and I just think it’d be nice if there was a link or something acknowledging that I made it. My tumblr url at the time of making it was the-tenth-doctor-is-in, but now it’s suriella. Either one would work. Thank you sooo much (:

  2. I really like learning obscure things, and that’s the case with languages, too. I’ve never really tried to learn a made-up language from a book, although I respect the authors who create them. And I’ve created languages of my own. Fragments of them, at least. (None of my languages look as cool as the ones above, because I usually use the Roman alphabet. But I’m studying Linguistics, so I know a lot about what makes up a language–various grammatical concepts, phonology, idioms, and so on.)

    • Lynne says:

      I think the Dothraki is still using the Roman alphabet (although simplified), but don’t quote me on it. But it does seem that many of the best Fantasy Languages come from authors who studied Linguistics! I usually cheat and just use google.translate into a more obscure language when I need a foreign/spell word!

Leave a Reply

