Random News: Even More Middle-Earth Celebration

Hello Lovely Readers,

I clearly am on a Middle-Earth kick right now. I just posted my review of The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug yesterday, it is spoiler free but at the end there is a link to some hidden content where I talk about some parts of the movie that are a little bit of spoilers! However, as I am still on a high from seeing the movie, and just obtaining the soundtrack, here are some more Middle-Earth finds!

First, is a fun personality quiz that tells you what type of Middle-Earth character you would be. I was a bit disappointed as I thought it would be specific people, but it is races (as far as I can tell). However, the quiz is fun, and you can take it here. I’m not sure how accurate the answers are, as I am apparently an  Elf. This made me laugh as I am not someone you would call graceful (more likely clumsy or someone with a lower center of gravity). I am probably more of a hobbit or dwarf, but I do like poetry and woods, so maybe it is plausible.

One of my favorite things is someone has created a Smaug twitter account, and it is pretty funny. Several of the best of them have been collected on lists on Tumblr, but you can access the original tweets here. Just as a heads up, there is a little bit of language not appropriate for kids on there, but it is fun to read.

I had to go looking for this one, as it has been one of my favorite things since I first saw it. I tell many people about it, and decided to include the link to the pictures and original story, you can access it here. But you can see a family spends part of their Christmas holiday building edible/candy recreations of famous battles in Middle-Earth. They have done Helms Deep siege, and my favorite the battle of Pelennor Fields at Minas Tirith (the big battle in Return of the King). I have to say I am very tempted to try one of these myself, but have neither the time nor help to pull it off.

I wasn’t sure if I would include this story or not, but I decided to leave it vague enough that if you don’t want to know you can ignore it. According to Yahoo, it appears that when Evangeline Lilly signed on to play Tauriel she had one demand, and then in editing it was decided to go directly against this wish. I really respect her for demanding it, but I would argue that it worked out. However, for everyone, there is a great video at the end where several of the actors have to guess who a picture of feet belongs to among the cast. It was pretty funny, especially the last set of feet! You can access the article here, but if you really want to avoid all spoilers, hold off on this article.

Anyone else dealing with post Hobbit highs? If so how are you guys dealing with it?

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

3 thoughts on “Random News: Even More Middle-Earth Celebration

  1. James says:

    The way I’m dealing with it is basically re-reading the books and re-watching the films … plus, counting down the days till December 17, 2014 (no really)

    • Lynne says:

      I just picked up the audiobook for the Hobbit to listen while I craft, and the new soundtrack (for thesis writing). I’m scared to start a count down to next year as that is just a long time to wait! But I think re-watching the movies sounds like an excellent idea!

      • James says:

        I’ve actually been counting down since January 2011 – every, single, day (around 1,090 days). I agree that it feels longer to wait like that – but there’s something really satisfying when you’re able to “cross-out” a day down and watch the days decrease … 🙂

Leave a Reply

