Random News: Tom Hiddleston and Some Fun Shakespeare and Marvel Finds

Hello Lovely Readers,

As you may have realized I have a bit of a soft spot for Tom Hiddleston, especially when it comes to him in Shakespeare plays. If you have not seen him in the Hollow Crown tetraology, I highly recommend it (especially Henry V)! I was very excited about six months ago when I found out he would be the lead in Coriolanus, however even back then all the tickets were completely sold out. Yet not is all lost, the National Theatre is doing an event where on 30 January (tomorrow) many participating cinemas will be broadcasting live a performance of Coriolanus, and to my knowledge this also extends outside the UK as well. Unfortunately, due to prior commitments, I will not be able to see this at the cinema. Luckily, one of the cinemas near me will be re-playing the show at later dates, and I will catch it then and report back. But hopefully some of you can see the event. There is information here. Also below is a nice video of behind the scenes a the theatre, just to try and entice you!

As if that wasn’t exciting enough, there are now rumors of Kenneth Branagh trying to direct a Hiddleston in a Shakespeare movie, and best of all it is Much Ado About Nothing. This is one of my favorite plays, and they are talking about having Hiddleston as Benedick, which I think is a perfect fit. You can read the article I found here. I am really hoping this rumor comes to pass. The only tricky part is who would be cast as Beatrice, as they will need to have a certain chemistry that if it is missing could spoil the whole play.

The last news is sort of combined, but apparently there is a lot of fun stuff on the new Thor: Dark World dvds, and these extra bits have hit the internet. The first shows Hiddleston embracing the chance to wear the Captain America costume, and it is not to be missed! You can see the clip and gifs here.

The second find from the dvd is Hiddleston’s original audition for the part of Thor. For those who may have been unaware, Hiddleston bulked up a bit and tried for the lead, before Kenneth Branagh (yes the same one from the previous news) cast him as Loki, and Hiddleston had to slim down for the part. While the whole video doesn’t seem to be posted yet, the gif sets make it worth it, so see it here. Plus it is fun to see Hiddleston with long blond hair (his actual hair unless I am mistaken).

Hope you guys enjoyed this as much as I did. I think I am going to have to re-watch The Hollow Crown tonight!

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

