Random News: Traveling with Detectives and Sherlock Fun

Hello Lovely Readers,

Today I have some really fun finds for you. Just in time for you to plan some travels this summer! Plus some that are just fun!

The first find is a CNN article you can read here, with a list of 9 cities to visit because they are connected to famous detectives. This was a really fun list for me because it was so  international and I did not know many of the detectives. It just shows me I have a lot of fun books still to read. I of course would love to see Stockholm as I loved The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson.

Hound Tor, Dartmoor, Devon

Second is an amazing resource for fans of the BBC show Sherlock. It is a list of most of the locations used in the 3 series and where they are as well as when in the series they appeared. Now before you click, there is information there from all 3 series, so if you have not caught up yet, don’t scroll all the way down (the article will tell you when to stop). You can view the list here. I know I now have some plans to visit some of these sites, especially the ones in London as I already have some trips planned there!

The next find is not a travel based one, but it reminds me of my childhood. It is 27 Reasons Why “The Great Mouse Detective” Is the Greatest Disney Movie. I loved this movie as a child and I love it even more now that I am more familiar with Sherlock Holmes. It is a great introduction to Holmes for youngsters, but there are many great references to some of the older portrayals of the character. I love that Basil, the mouse detective, is named after Basil Rathbone (who I love) who was one of the most famous actors to portray Holmes!

Lastly, is a fun find that pairs texts from last night with pictures from Sherlock for a very funny effect. As a warning there is some language that is not suitable for everyone, so just a heads up before you click here. I loved them and was laughing out loud at a lot of them as I could see the characters saying or doing the text!

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

