Random News: Jane Austen Fun

Hello Lovely Readers,

So some exciting Jane Austen news inspired me to share some fun Jane Austen inspired finds with you. It might have helped that I have recently been to Bath and the Jane Austen museum!

So the news is that a 2003 radio performance of Mansfield Park is going to be re-broadcast starting on 12 May on Radio 4 at 2pm. Even better is that David Tennant and Benedict Cumberbatch are both in the cast! This was before they were as well known as they are today. You can read more information about the play here. It is a nice celebration for the 200th anniversary of the book’s release. I have never read Mansfield Park, but I am looking forward to hearing this play!

So as I was inspired by that news I found a wonderful resource with information on how to throw a Pride and Prejudice party, here. It has some great ideas about invitations, food, and decorations. I think it sounds like fun and maybe Frances and I will try out some of the ideas!

Next are a pair of quizzes from Buzzfeed which are a lot of fun. The first is to find out Which Jane Austen Heroine You Are. It takes less than five minutes. I was at a bit of a disadvantage as I have only read/seen Pride and Prejudice, so I was unfamiliar with my result of Elinor Dashwood. However, I like the description and will have to read Sense and Sensibility.

The second quiz is to find out Which Jane Austen Hero is Your Soulmate. I was very excited to find out that apparently Mr. Darcy is my Soulmate. Clearly this is awesome news, unfortunately I think Mr. Darcys are in short supply!

Lastly, this is one of my all time favorite videos and hopefully you guys will enjoy it as much as I do!

Until next time,

 

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

One thought on “Random News: Jane Austen Fun

  1. Frances says:

    Hi Lynne,

    I got Elinor Dashwood too!! Just goes to show we are way to similar! I think you’d be happy with your result if you’d seen sense and senseability. We’ll have to introduce you to that one next 🙂

Leave a Reply

