Random News: Missing the Mark

Hello Lovely Readers,

So sometimes when companies try to advertise their projects they completely miss the mark, and even worse sometimes they annoy the very people they were trying to entice. I have just run into that twice in this past week, so I thought I would share those with you guys.

The first is the new “teaser” trailer for the live action Cinderella movie. It Disney’s words that it is a “teaser” trailer, I would call it either a tease trailer or a blatant cop-out. France was in the office when I watched this and she can attest to my rather unimpressed reaction to the trailer. Basically I was looking forward to just a couple glimpses of the world, characters, anything. Instead the whole thing is just a computer generated shot of the glass slipper…yes that is all…Clearly I am still upset about this. It feels like they were supposed to release a trailer and did not have enough prepared and this was the best they could do. Personally, I think if that is all they have ready, then release a poster or a gif. Honestly, they just should not have bothered, because instead of making me more excited for the film, I am almost ready to write the movie off. What do you guys think, check out the “trailer” below.

The second one isn’t nearly as bad, but I still think they missed the mark. It is a slideshow of updated outfits that our favorite literary heroines might wear, which you can check out here. While it is kind of nice to flip through, the one thing that really stuck out to me was the price of all the items. These are not things that normal book readers would be able to afford, most of the items are ridiculously expensive. Now for some heroines this might work, but others like Lizzie Bennett who is a very practical woman, would probably not be found dead in these. So while I appreciate the effort, I feel like maybe they need to spend some more time getting to know these characters before they say what they would have worn!

What do you guys think, are there times when companies mess up so bad it puts you off a product? When or what was the last item to do that to you? Am I overreacting to my feelings to the Cinderella “trailer”?

Until next time,

 

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

