Random News: Browncoat Friday

Hello Lovely Readers,

Ever since I watched the movie Serenity and made a friend because of it, who then introduced me to the wonders that were Firefly, I have been a Browncoat! Surprisingly, no matter where I went, I would eventually find the other Browncoats, and usually I was already friends with them. So it has become a bit like returning home for me to watch the series or the movie, as it reminds me of all my friends. For those that have no clue what a Browncoat is, a Browncoat is a fan of series Firefly (and/or the movie based on the series, Serenity). So since I was craving something shiny today, I thought I would share some fun finds for the other Browncoats out there!

First find is 21 Times You Found Serenity. This is mostly a list of how awesome Captain Malcolm Reynolds is, which is fun! For those who aren’t Browncoats yet, Serenity is the name of a battle that Captain Mal and his firstmate, Zoe fought in, and lost. The ship and the movie are named after this battle. But even more, it is a line in the theme song of the tv series, and you can listen to it at the bottom of this post.

The second find is 27 Signs You’re A Browncoat, and it is great. There is a much wider range of characters and events. It was very nice reminder for me of the whole series! It is so hard to pick a favorite one, but I do love Shepard Book, who is the one aiming for the kneecaps! ^_^

Lastly is a quiz to figure out Which Firefly Character You Are. I was excited to get Captain Mal, Mr. Captain-Tight-Pants himself. He is not the typical hero, but he is someone you can relate to, and his crew love him (in their own ways).

Since I was feeling nostalgic, and I love this song (it was the first one I taught myself when I tried to learn guitar). Here is the theme song, “The Ballad of Serenity,” from the series, Firefly. Also below is a video that I watched while working on this post, and I just couldn’t leave it out. So watch for some of the best quotes from the series and movie (my housemate who has never seen the show was laughing out loud as he heard some of these!)

So how many of you are Browncoats? Will any of you who haven’t seen the series watch it? I think I know what I am relaxing with this weekend, and in the words of Captain Mal, “I aim to misbehave!”

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

