Random News: Concerns on Kindle

Hello Lovely Readers,

Just a quick news story from me today. The other day I was killing time on Buzzfeed and read an interesting article, The Most Highlighted Book Passages According To Kindle Readers. While the article itself is interesting, with 17 of the top 21 highlighted passages coming from The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins, it got me thinking on several things. The first is that the statistical part of me instantly was suspicious on why so many were from the same series. A little digging reveals that the books were offered free to Amazon Prime members. It is also necessary to take into account this is not all books, and not all e-books, just the ones that Amazon has access to. Which brings me to my second thought.

The more important thing that I realized was being revealed by this article is that Amazon has access to whatever you highlight on your Kindle. This is much more disturbing to me. Both Frances and I read many e-books, however I do not own a Kindle, instead a Sony e-reader. So I asked her if she knew that Amazon had access to all the information that she highlighted, and she hadn’t been aware of this. We both find it really unsettling to think that Amazon has access to what we each assumed was private information. Also we have each uploaded files to our e-readers that are not books, but our own work, and the though that a company could have access to some of those is not comforting. This also reminded me of a couple of articles I read a while ago about Amazon being within their rights to take all the books off your Kindle and shut your account without warning if they think you have broken their contract (here is one of those articles). I guess all of this just makes me very glad that I do not own a Kindle or an internet capable e-reader, but it also makes me nervous about what information is going back about my reader and reading habits, because if this is the information we know that they are collecting what else are they collecting?

So what about you guys? Do you read e-books, and if so how? Did you know that Amazon had access to this information about your reader and habits?

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

