Random News: Movie Updates

Hello Lovely Readers,

So this past week I stumbled across news for two sequels that I had sort of forgotten about. One was sad news for me, and the other pretty good news. I thought I would share them with you.

The first is from Buzzfeed where they bring out the facts about the American adaptation of The Millennium Trilogy. You can read the article here, and basically they sum up why we will probably not be seeing the next two movies. Which is a bit sad for me, as I loved the series, and the first movie wasn’t bad. However, I really loved the second two films in the original Swedish. Unlike Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, I had read the last two books before I saw the movie and knew how hard those would be to adapt. Even though I enjoyed the English adaptation of Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, I still loved the Swedish one better, and was worried how Hollywood could adapt those next two books, which tell one huge conspiracy story! The article points out that it has been 4 years and there hasn’t really been any push to follow up the first movie, and that was a shock to me as it seems like it was just released. So I am sad to not see more from this series, but in the end it is probably for the best. Plus I still have the boxed set of the Swedish version, and those are excellent!

The second news is not anything new, as it had been talked about a couple years ago when the first on came out, but not things are more official. There is an article on Yahoo that you can read here, that talks that the next Snow White and the Huntsman movie would be without Kristen Stewart in it. Frances and I heard this news way back when, and to hear it again is encouraging. Our favorite parts of the first movie were the witch (Charlize Theron) and the huntsman (Chris Hemsworth) and they are both looking like they will be back. While I dislike the fact that this may be because Stewart was caught having a fling with the director, since she seemed to get the whole blame, whereas he was in a position of authority over her and got away with it, she was one of the two worst things about the movie. The best thing I had to say about her character was at least she didn’t talk much, which is not a great thing for your lead. The other trouble was the ending of the movie and the supposedly rousing speech Snow White gives, which was so muddled it completely lost everyone! With better writing and directing, and with our favorites back, the sequel could be so much better than the first movie, but only time will tell.

What do you guys think about this news?

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

