Random News: Gundams and Dance Battle

Hello Lovely Readers,

So today I have two really random things to share, but both made me smile. The first is a funny youtube video of a dance battle between Harry Potter and Twilight, and if you watch long enough there is a little interference from The Lord of the Rings! You can watch it below (and if it helps, neither one wins, so all fandoms can be happy!).

The other news, which makes me really excited is that Japan has plans to build a moving Gundam mobile suit! For those unfamiliar Gundams are originally from the series “Mobile Suit Gundam” which was first released in 1979, and since then there are so many series, reboots, remakes, and offshoots that I couldn’t possibly list them all. However, Gundams are very important to me as “Gundam Wing” was the first series to really get me into manga and anime, and is still one of my favorite series. One of my dream vacations is to Japan where I would have to see the existing Gundam statue that was erected in 2009 for the 30th anniversary! You can read more about the plans for the robot here. However, as exited as I am for the robot, I just hope the war and destruction that comes with them doesn’t follow, as Gundams are traditionally a mix of the Iron Man suit and a tank, piloted by young adults (or teenagers) in midst of horrible wars that ravish the Earth. If you have never read or watched anything with a Gundam in it, I highly recommend you do (my favorites were “Gundam Wing” or “8th MS Team”).
So did the video make you guys laugh? Who do you think won, and who did you want to win? And is anyone else as excited about the Gundam as I am?

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

