Random News: Happy Belated Birthday Harry Potter

Hello Lovely Readers,

So it wasn’t until this morning that I realize I missed Harry Potter’s (and JK Rowling’s) birthday last Thursday. In my defense I was out of town, and I had prepared all the post a head of time, so it never really registered. But that means lots of Harry Potter posts this week in recompense for that slip! Today are some interesting Harry Potter themed videos.

First is one that is very dear to me, and it is the opening song to A Very Potter Musical that was written and performed by StarKid Production at the University of Michigan (my old school!). You may recognize Darren Criss who went on to Glee after this. But you can watch the whole show youtube, which I highly suggest. Plus there is also the sequel as well. Anyway this is one of the best songs of the show!

Next is a video that has been out for over half a year, but I just stumbled upon it. If you have ever wondered what it might have been like when Albus Dumbledore and Gellert Grindelwald fought, and Albus’s sister was killed, this video gives an idea. Some of the acting is a bit rough, but the concept was really cool, and very sad.

Lastly, this video I saw a while ago and though it doesn’t really fit with the other two, I have been looking to share it for a while, as I have a lot o opinions about it. In the video Rowling is asked if Snape was a hero, and she makes it clear he wasn’t. She points out that he wasn’t that nice of a person, and without his “love” of Lily he wouldn’t have cared at all about Harry. I think this is important for people to remember about Snape, even though he did some good deeds, he was not a good person.

Hope you guys enjoy the videos!

Until next time,

About Lynne

I am currently a PhD student of Forensic Psychology, which may explain the off mix of extremely morbid books sitting next to children’s books. Hailing from the Midwest in the United States of America, I have now lived in England for over 2 years (which will explain any strange grammar usage). From a very young age, my parents cultivated a love of reading, and never restricted what I read. When I reached middle school I began reading Shakespeare (a lifelong love affair), but had also discovered the wonders of young adult fiction. While the world may now expect me to read books more reflective of my age, I have fought this and am a strong supporter of the YA novel! Despite having very little free time, I still sets aside time for a reading every evening, and listens to books on my way to University. I dream of one day being a published novelist and published scientist!

Leave a Reply

